Texas '96 Parallel Session Workshops

The following lists the parallel session workshops and their chairs/organizers. Click on underlined topics to see the preliminary schedules (speakers and poster presentations) for those sessions. If you are interested in speaking or presenting a poster in a particular session, contact (one of) the chairs directly, not the conference organizers, by September 1, 1996. An alphabetical list of session chairs with their mail addresses, e-mail addresses, telephone, and fax numbers, is appended below. Session chairs have complete autonomy over the organization of their sessions.

Session Topics and Chairs


Texas '96 Session Chairs

Abhay Ashtekar
Department of Physics, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-863-9601; Fax: 814-865-3604; E-Mail: ashtekar@phys.psu.edu
Parallel Session Chair: Quantum Gravity and General Relativity

Don C. Backer
Radio Astronomy Laboratory, University of California, Campbell Hall, Berkeley, CA 94720
Phone: 510-642-5128; Fax: 510-642-3441; E-Mail: dbacker@bkypsr2.berkeley.edu
Parallel Session Chair: Pulsars and Neutron Stars

V. Berezinsky
Lab. Nazionale del Gran Sasso, SS 17 Bis km 18+910, 67010 Assergi, Italy
Phone: 39-862-4371; Fax: 39-862-410795; E-Mail: berezinsky@lngs.infn.it
Parallel Session Chair: Solar Neutrinos

J. Richard Bond
CITA, McLennan Labs, University of Toronto, Ontario, M5S 1A7, Canada
Phone: 416-978-6874; Fax: 416-978-3921; E-Mail: bond@cita.utoronto.ca
Parallel Session Co-Chair: Cosmic Microwave Background

Francois Bouchet
Institut d'Astrophysique, 98 bis Boulevard Arago, 75016 Paris, France
Phone: 33-1-43-20-14-25; Fax: 33-1-43-29-86-73; E-Mail: bouchet@iap.fr
Parallel Session Chair: Large-Scale Structure

Hale Bradt
Center for Space Research & Physics Department, Rm. 37-587
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Phone: 617-253-7550; Fax: 617-253-0861; E-Mail: hale@space.mit.edu
Parallel Session Chair: X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Timing and Broad-Band Spectroscopy

Alain Brillet
Laboratoire de l'Accelerateur Linear, Universite Paris - SUD
Bat 200, 91405 Orsay, Cedex, France
Phone: 33-1-644-68919 or 33-07-315282; Fax: 33-1-690-72517; E-Mail: brillet@lal.in2p3.fr
Parallel Session Co-Chair: Gravitational Waves

James Cronin
Department of Physics, University of Chicago, 5640 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago, IL 60637
Phone: 312-702-7102; Fax: 312-702-1914; E-Mail: jwc@uchep.uchicago.edu
Parallel Session Co-Chair: High Energy Cosmic Rays

Richard Ellis
Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, Madingley Road
Cambridge CB3 0HA, United Kingdom
Phone: 44-1223-330879; Secy. 44-1223-337521; Fax: 44-1223-337523
E-Mail: rse@mail.ast.cam.ac.uk
Parallel Session Chair: Galaxy Formation and Evolution

Edward Fenimore
Los Alamos National Laboratory, MS D436, Los Alamos, NM 87545
Phone: 505-667-7371; Fax: 505-665-4414; E-Mail: efenimore@lanl.gov
Parallel Session Co-Chair: Gamma Ray Bursts

Neil Gehrels
NASA - Goddard Space Flight Center, Code 661, Greenbelt, MD 20771
Phone: 301-286-6546; Fax: 301-286-1684; E-Mail: gehrels@lheavx.gsfc.nasa.gov
Parallel Session Co-Chair: X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Timing and Broad-Band Spectroscopy

Riccardo Giacconi
European Southern Observatory, Karl-Schwarzschild-Strasse 2
D-85748 Garching bei Munchen, Germany
Phone: 089-320-06-2 26/2 27; Fax:089 3 20 06-3 66; E-mail: deisenhu@eso.org
Parallel Session Co-Chair: Future Projects and Instruments

Adalberto Giazotto
Instituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, Sez. di Pisa, via Livernese 1291
I-56010 S. Piero A Grado, Pisa, Italy
Phone: 39-50-880-250; Fax: 39-59-880-317; E-Mail: giazotto@pi.infn.it
Parallel Session Co-Chair: Gravitational Waves

Wolfgang Hillebrandt
Max-Planck-Institut fur Astrophysik, Karl Schwarzschildstr. 1
Postfach 1523, 85740 Garching, Germany
Phone: 49-89-3299-3200; Fax: 49-89-3299-3235; E-Mail: wfh@mpa-garching.mpg.de
Parallel Session Chair: Supernovae

Kevin Hurley
Space Sciences Lab. - 302, University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720
Phone: 510-643-9173; Fax: 510-643-8302; E-Mail: khurley@sunspot.ssl.berkeley.edu
Parallel Session Co-Chair: Gamma Ray Bursts

Robert Kirshner
Center for Astrophysics, Harvard University, 60 Garden Street - MS-19, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: 617-495-7519; Fax: 617-495-7467; E-Mail: kirshner@cfa.harvard.edu
Parallel Session Chair: Cosmological Parameters

Rocky Kolb
Theoretical Astrophysics Group, M. S. 209, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
P. O. Box 500, Batavia, IL 60510
Phone: 708-840-4695; Fax: 708-840-8231; E-Mail: rocky@rigoletto.fnal.gov
Parallel Session Chair: Early Universe

Arieh Konigl
Dept. of Astronomy & Astrophysics, University of Chicago
5640 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago, IL 60637
Phone: 312-702-7968; Fax: 312-702-8212; E-Mail: arieh@oddjob.uchicago.edu
Parallel Session Chair: AGNs, QSOs, and Jets

Ken'ichi Nomoto
Dept. of Astronomy, University of Tokyo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo, Japan 113
Phone: 81-3-3369-5079; Fax: 81-3-3813-9439; E-Mail: nomoto@astron.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Parallel Session Chair: Nuclear Astrophysics

Katsuhiko Sato
Department of Physics, University of Tokyo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113, Japan
Phone: 81-3-3812-2111 x-4207; Fax: 81-3-5689-0465; E-Mail: sato@phys.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Parallel Session Chair: Big Bang Nucleosynthesis

Edward Seidel
Max-Planck-Institut fuer Gravitationsphysik
Albert-Einstein-Institut, Schlaatzweg 1, D-14473 Potsdam, Germany
Phone: 49-331-27537-29; Fax: 49-331-27537-98; E-Mail: eseidel@aei-potsdam.mpg.de
Parallel Session Chair: Numerical Relativity

George Smoot
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, 1 Cyclotron Road, Berkeley, CA 94720
Phone: 510-486-5505; Fax: 510-486-7149; E-Mail: smoot@cosmos.lbl.gov
Parallel Session Co-Chair: Cosmic Microwave Background

Y. Tanaka
Astronomical Institute, University of Utrecht, Postbus 80000, 3508 TA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone: 31-30-2535224 Fax: 31-30-2535201, E-Mail: y.tanaka@fys.ruu.nl
Parallel Session Chair: Galaxy Clusters

Michael Turner
Theoretical Astrophysics Group, M. S. 209, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
P. O. Box 500, Batavia, IL 60510
Phone: 708-840-4521 or 312-702-7974; Fax: 708-840-8231; E-Mail: mturner@fnal.fnal.gov
Parallel Session Chair: Dark Matter

E. van den Heuvel
Universiteit van Amsterdam, Kruislaan 403, 1098 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone: 31-20-525-7493; Fax: 31-20-525-7490; E-Mail: edvdh@astro.uva.nl
Parallel Session Chair: X-Ray Binaries

Alan Watson
Physics Department, University of Leeds, LS2 9JT, Leeds, United Kingdom
Phone: 44-113-233-3888; Fax: 44-113-233-3900; E-Mail: a.a.watson@leeds.ac.uk
Parallel Session Co-Chair: High Energy Cosmic Rays

Rachel L. Webster
School of Physics, University of Melbourne, 3052 Parkville, Victoria, Australia
Phone: 61-3-344-5450; Fax: 61-3-347-4783; E-Mail: webster@tauon.ph.unimelb.edu.au
Parallel Session Chair: Gravitational Lenses

Edward Wright
Department of Physics & Astronomy, University of California,
P.O. Box 951562, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1562
Phone: (310)825-5755; Fax: (310)206-2096; E-Mail: wright@astro.ucla.edu
Parallel Session Co-chair: Future Projects and Instruments

Don York
Dept. of Astronomy & Astrophysics, University of Chicago
5640 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago, IL 60637
Phone: 312-702-8930; Fax: 312-702-8212; E-Mail: don@oddjob.uchicago.edu
Parallel Session Chair: QSO Absorption Line Systems